Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Some pointers that may help newcomers...let's call it an orientation. :)

Go down

Some pointers that may help newcomers...let's call it an orientation. :) Empty Some pointers that may help newcomers...let's call it an orientation. :)

Post by fahmy Mon Aug 02, 2010 7:57 am

Attention: for total beginners as well as veteran forumers.

If you're not familiar with online forums in general there is always a golden rule: don't be afraid to experiment. Take a look around, check out what the forum has to offer, go in and out of links and read posts..and finally cross that brave and mighty obstacle that many have feared to tread: make a post! We would all love to hear it. Try all the buttons, check out the Calender for upcoming events (it's up there on the left). You might have noticed the little black pyramid to the left of the forums that often turns yellow. Well it's not a colour test designed to drive you crazy (although it might be a tempting prospect)..the yellow pyramid means there are new posts that you haven't checked out in that particular forum since your last visit. There is also another way to find them out: click on the 'View new posts since last visit' at the upper left of the home page.

One important aspect I would advise everyone to check is your own profile - available via the 'Profile' button in the upper red menu. Particularly the 'Preferences' section inside, in which for example you can turn your signature on and off, or check off the box which sends you an email every time someone responds to a post you made.